Golden Globes 2014: The snubbed

Aside from the many technical screwups, Diddy’s off put singing and the occasional blunt humor courtesy of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, the 2014 Golden Globes was a major snore fest.

I’m not sure about you but I’m not one of those people who can tolerate five minutes of continuous disappointment, let alone three hours.

Or maybe I was just annoyed that night, or bored or resentful because nearly all of my bets were slighted. To say the least, the Academy, or whoever decides what and who is nominated, really sucks at their jobs.

There’s one thing I’m sure many people can understand about this time of year: when your favorite TV show or movie doesn’t make the cut for the awards ceremony, you’re pretty pissed off.

So allow me to skim through some of the categories, and their respective winners, and tell you who should have taken the cake at the annual event.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama

Academy’s Choice: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

My Choice: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

To be totally honest here, I really didn’t enjoy the plotline of 12 Years a Slave but Ejiofor and Lupita Nyong’o’s acting and on-screen chemistry was undeniable. The fact that they gave it to McConaughey instead, is downright laughable. It’s like one of those, “You’ve gotta be kidding me, right?” moments, and this is it.

Best Actress in a TV Series, Musical or Comedy

Academy’s Choice: Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

My Choice: Zooey Deschanel, New Girl

I don’t know which was more awkward for me for this category: the fact that Poehler beat out Deschanel or the realization that Katy Perry’s twin sister really lost to Poehler! New Girl has the kind of potential that could easily rival the likes of Keeping Up With The Kardashians, let alone Parks and Recreation (which just sounds like a bunch of dog poo, if you know what I mean).

Best Actress in a Miniseries or TV Movie

Academy’s Choice: Elisabeth Moss, Top of the Lake

My Choice: Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Coven

Call me a fanboy for sci-fi, supernatural television, but Lange should have been ahead of Moss for this one. Despite my ill-feelings towards Ryan Murphy, the man knows how to make good TV. Plus, Murphy already won my heart with the ever so sexy Nip/Tuck series, which ended way too early. I digress.

Lange is a total beast on the show, and the baddest witch to step out into the spotlight since the Charmed girls. Why the Academy went for a television series called Top of the Lake? We’ll never know. But for snubbing Lange of her well deserved award, they can jump off that lake… or into it, whichever is more painful.

To save my sanity, I won’t even go into how I feel about the innumerable times Kerry Washington has been snubbed for her trailblazing work in Scandal.

With the added disappointment of last year’s turnout at the Emmy’s and now the Globes? The world is truly wading toward its end. Let’s hope, for the sake of the universe, the Oscars will be much more promising.

My money’s on Nyong’o and Jennifer Lawrence. Who will you be rooting for this season?

Featured Image: Source

About Paris Close (18 Articles)
Editor-in-chief of Paperback Paris.

Leave a Reply

