Eminem ‘Marshall Mathers LP 2’ Release

wpid-tumblr_mapokrrxek1rrpnx6

On May 23rd 2000, Eminem released his 2nd studio album titled Marshall Mathers LP. The album sold more than 1.76 million copies in the first week landing the rapper the record of fastest-selling studio album by any solo artist in American music history. On November 5th 2013, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 hit stores, the long awaited sequel marked Eminem’s 8th  studio album. The album has 21 songs/skits including the sequel to Stan and includes feature artists Rihanna and Kendrick Lamar.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, prior to the album’s release, he was asked about his feelings on the album and was a little uneasy as the release grew near. “Um, that’s a tough question, man. For the most part, yeah. But I don’t know if I ever feel totally great about a record when I put it out. With every record that I put out, someone has literally got to come pry it from me because when I listen to my own music, I just hear flaws in it.

Like I hear ‘Oh f***! I could have done this better or that better!’ And I’ll work it to death. Obviously if I wasn’t comfortable with it, I wouldn’t put it out. But from the beginning, ever since my career started, I don’t know if I’ve ever been totally like, this is completely it.” Those nerves were probably short lived because in just the first two weeks of MMLP2’s release, the album has already gone platinum just one week after selling over 700,000 copies. He has never had a studio album fail to go platinum in at least one country.

Later, in the same Rolling Stone interview, the rapper admitted that the Marshall Mathers LP was his favorite album and that Encore and Relapse were some of his least favorite albums he’s produced in his career. When asked by vibe.com about where he believed his music is headed in the future he had this to say “I realize that I’m an adult, and I don’t know what I’ll be doing a year from now, 10 years from now, but I don’t think that my tongue and cheekiness will ever go away.”

Eminem is currently touring Australia and New Zealand to promote MMLP2, but rumor has it the rapper is making plans to tour the US in 2014. If rumors are correct it will be the first time he’s toured the US since 2011. But, until any formal announcement is made, fans will just have to wait and speculate while enjoying the album.

Featured Image: Source

Leave a Reply

