How To: Manage Your Time with Greek Life

When I went to pledge for a sorority with my roommate last fall, I believed that I would have no free time to do anything else regarding extracurricular clubs, work, and internships. However, that is not true!

Being an active member of Greek Life can be very time consuming and it can become a large part of your life, but you don’t have to make it consume your life. Many of my sisters (including myself) manage to hold internships, jobs and many other extracurricular activities. Yes, they do all of this while still receiving good grades in school!

I had always wanted to have a position for my sorority, whether it was miniscule or large. I decided to slate for Art Design Chair since I love art and thought it would be a fun opportunity to express my creative outlet and to help out during events. It definitely took up a large part of my time during Greek Week, but I managed to finish many of my major school assignments, the week prior, because I knew what to expect when going into Greek Week. If I hadn’t managed my time wisely, I could have been stuck in a difficult situation, since  that time was near finals week.

With Greek Life, like any other extracurricular organization, you can’t attend everything. Although people may question why you’re not going to everything, you have to remember that you have other things that you need to do in your life. There simply aren’t enough hours in the day to do everything you want!

Prioritizing is the key to success! You cannot sleep all day and expect to see all your friends at night. You have to make time for work and a social life. There are so many opportunities to see your sisters/brothers AND to study at the same time. (You have to be productive, though, and not spend hours talking at the library!) You can catch up and discuss what you did last weekend once you finish your work!

All-in-all, it’s easy to get thrown off in college and lose track of focusing on the important aspects, like schoolwork! Once you manage your time and complete your class assignments, you can actually be involved more in Greek Life. By procrastinating and writing your paper for two days straight, you won’t be able to do more with Greek Life.

Leave a Reply

